Todd & dEKe’S Boneyard…

So a few weeks back along with my Brother Todd we headed down to the States to catch Iron Maiden!

To get to Minneapolis from Tbay is approx 6 hours by vehicle. When Mr 1537 (who lives in England) asked me how far of a drive it was and I answered 6 hours(no biggie I said) Mr 1537 laughed( at the no biggie comment) as he said he could drive across his little island in that time.

Our Listening music on the way down to see Maiden was well….Maiden!

Book of Souls/Live Envivo/Live After Death were all played on the drive down! Basically 3 full double albums were played to reach our destination!

On the drive back home to Thunder Bay the next morning  it was time for Sirius Satellite Radio. After Todd got his morning fix of the NFL station. After a few minutes he dialled up Ozzy’s Boneyard which had a Fathers Day Special in which the Host played Rock Tracks by Rocker Dads like Ozzy/Tommy Lee/ Dave Mustaine/Bruce Dickinson/Gene Simmons. Basically the Host would talk about the Rock Dad’s and then play a tune by them.

When Megadeth was played Todd mentioned how Deth’s Rust In Peace impacted him as a 13-year-old learning guitar  back in 1990. I replied with how it was with Countdown To Extinction that I really gravitated more to. Todd said maybe it was time for me to have  a revisit with Rust In Peace.

I laughed when the Host (can’t remember her name) talked about AC/DC’s Brian Johnson being a father so up next was an AC/DC track and they played Shot Down In Flames. 

Umm Ding Dong, Brian Johnson was not in AC/DC at this time as the singer! The late great Bon Scott sang Shot Down In Flames! Yeah I’m being picky but c’mon man do your homework!

After a while Todd put on Hair Nation and here’s Ratt (Lovin You’s A Dirty Job) Def Leppard(Photograph) Skid Row (I Remember You/Gah!) But it was two tracks well maybe three tracks that brought out some chatter between us.

Conversation went like this….

Motley Crue/Jailhouse Rock(Live)

Deke- “Man! I can’t believe how much of a dumb ass I was back in 1987!”

Todd- (laughs)-” Why?”

Deke-” I actually liked this back than. But let’s just cut another studio track, Slap a live audience on it and drag this end of the album tune out by 5 minutes….! Fuckin Sixx!”

Dokken/Breaking The Chains(song)

Todd-” George Lynch was a real great guitar player back than” What are they doing now? Lynch Mob?”

Deke- “Yeah that and a bunch of guitar clinics and a Dokken reunion last year where Don looked and sounded shot!”

Todd-” No Way!!?”

Deke-” One of the few bands that did not stick out a dud album in the 80’s but man George looked like a friggin banana on that Tooth and Nail Tour when half his hair was blonde and the other half was black!”

Poison/Look What The Cat Dragged In…

Exactly at the 48 second mark of the song Look What The Cat Dragged In, Lead Singer Bret Micheal’s finishes the chorus where he sings the line  “Look What The Cat Dragged IN…RRRRRRRAAAR!

Deke and Todd- HAHAHAHAHAHA(For about 15 seconds after) as Micheals sings the second verse were still mocking the RRRRRRRRRAAAR part like a couple of teenage boys yet here is my bro who just turned 40 and myself who will be hitting 50 and  30 years after this albums release I finally hear the RRRRRRRRAAAR part? That is even funnier….Must have been Poisoned listening to this album back than. Yeah That’s it….

Here’s the video posted so you can hear it for yourself…

Todd likes to try and  stump me and he did on this next one. I should have waited til the chorus but I wanted to look cool and look like a Banger know it all but instead I was tagged out at the plate. The song you ask? Black N Blue/Miss Mystery.  Of course which leads to me explaining how Bruce Fairbairn got the Jovi Producers hat after hearing this Black N Blue album. Basically I was trying to save face which leads too…

Bon Jovi/In And Out Of Love

Deke-” Wish Jon would play this tune now especially when he sings the  “Bring your Girlfriend/Bring your Mom line” hahaha

Another track came on after the Jovi and this lead singer just wailed with a screech so bad, so annoying that Todd was trying to set me up with another strike out or stump the Deke as if you were…but I wasn’t biting…

Todd-” Hahahaha…this is brutal who are these guys?”

Deke-“Have no idea? This guy sounds like Tom Keifer all snapped up and inhaling helium….”

The band- Britny Fox. The song-Long Way To Love.

I did tell Todd that these guys went Gold on this album back in 1989. Than again everything went Gold back than as Record Companies were signing anything Hair Metal like good or bad and in this case Bad!

There ya have it ….It was a great way to kill some time and have a few laughs…..

 

19 thoughts on “Todd & dEKe’S Boneyard…”

  1. My dad’s truck has Sirius radio so I love to borrow it.
    Ozzys Boneyard and Hair Nation are my fave stations too.
    I almost did a post about it. It was going to be a Boneyard vs. Hair Nation post.
    I think for me the Boneyard would win. I love hair metal, but maybe need a little variety, and the Boneyard has it all.
    It sounds like a fun trip. Memory lane is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries around here for your listening tastes Sarca…Hell I have a soft spot for Hungry Like A Wolf!…hahaha…
      It was a great way to kill time and have some laughs….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Road trip music! Fantastic. Priming up on the Maiden to get geared for the show, then rocking out to other stuff on the way home… sounds wonderful. Love the name that tune vibe, and you guys have a great comeraderie. The stuff of memories. Well done Deke!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deke-” I actually liked this back than. But let’s just cut another studio track, Slap a live audience on it and drag this end of the album tune out by 5 minutes….! Fuckin Sixx!”

    I LAUGHED OUT LOUD.

    Good story Deke, I enjoyed this. Wow that’s a long drive, though to see Iron Maiden on this tour, worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! Glad you laughed at that as u knew where I was coming from!
      The 6 hr drive is not bad Mikey to see shows in Minneapolis ….
      To drive to Duluth from here is 3 hours and to Winnipeg is 9….
      As I told Joe me and Tbone did that Winnipeg drive lot’s back in the day!
      Basically as you had to travel distances to see the bands as they weren’t coming here….
      Good time dude….

      Like

  4. This is what makes long journeys great! All the sounds! All the chat!

    I actually read the other day that yon Brett Michaels chap is signed up for Sharknado 5! Man that franchise has went downhill! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.