Dogman Visits Thunder Bay

image

Kings X/Kilroys (Bar)

It’s spring 2006,me, my brother Todd and about 98 others are standing around in a Tbay bar waiting for yep you guessed it…KINGS X ! Like is this not crazy!! Kings X the band everyone loves and due to the lack of shitty promotion the show was very poorly attended but give the band credit like true professionals they played just under 2 hours. They were plugging there latest release Ogre Tones which is a fine damn record even Dug,Jerry,Ty think so as well as the first six songs from,

Ogre Tones are played live at the show….Bebop! These guys were awesome they all sang lead and backing harmonies from the opener Groove Machine til the end  with Over My Head. Man,Dugs bass almost tore my head off when he went into DOGMAN ! Gotta love those 8&12 string Hamer  basses ….massive bottom end!….

After the show the guys stuck around and signed CDs (had em sign my copy of Ear Candy as that is my fav of there’s!), pics whatever was handed to em…they were super cool laid back hippies that just so happen play Loud Rock! I was glad I went man….what a band…..

10 thoughts on “Dogman Visits Thunder Bay”

  1. Dude!!! I LOVE Ear Candy! When it came out, some of my King’s X buddies were really disappointed in it. I love it. It’s a very special album. And Arnold Lanni got an AMAZING drum sound on it.

    Arnold Lanni…jeez who woulda thought?

    Ogre Tones is one of the few I don’t have. I should get it?

    Like

    1. Ogre Tones is a great record…that’s why I thru the word Bebop! In my review. It’s a super cool song named well Bebop!! Yeah Arnold Lanni….I asked them that night about him and said they really dug(no pun) what he brought to the table as of course our topic of conversation for the few minutes was about Ear Candy….

      Like

      1. It’s too bad that KX have never tried to go back to a sound as commercial as they got on Ear Candy. I think when a band releases albums as frequently as they used to, you can do a more “pop” album like this every once in a while and nobody gets too mad about it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. And here I will completely lose all of my rawk cred in one comment on one post: I don’t think I’ve ever heard any King’s X. That’s probably blasphemy, in these parts. 😉 Feel free to heckle me. I’ll… I’ll handle it as best I can…

    Like

  3. Atta Boy Aaron…..this will be a heckle free zone. Thanks for watching the vids as we’ll.I’m glad your kids watched Mudkicker last week! I got one video that will be posted on Wednesday that your kids will dig!
    Promise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

