5 Man Loud Electrical Jam…..

Tesla/Firehouse/ Duluth Arena/August 11 1992

Bang,Bang Shoot em Up! Here comes Tesla headlining (Pyschotic Supper World Tour)with support act Firehouse playing Ladanos favourite American City Duluth to a half filed arena (2500) or so.

Myself,my bro Todd,Al ,Cementhead and Anvils biggest world wide fan Tony Gallo shot down to see the show. Well here comes Firehouse you know em they had a little decent run for a few years at which time they were plugging there current release which was Reach For The Sky which the title track was very good road slamming tune. There focus that night was mainly the debut which was played  songs like Shake an Tumble,Don’t Treat Me Bad, Overnight Sensation in other words the rockers I liked but for me I could not handle any Firehouse ballads I mean shit all these bands were doing it too the point Of overkill  as all the bands would you know release   a heavy single followed by a ballad and quite frankly I thought Firehouses ballads were like REO Speedwagon cast offs . Hey if you love ballads more power to ya but man when the lead singer CJ Snare pulled his Casio keyboard to the front of the stage to play Love Of  A Lifetime I thought I was gonna puke! Having said that the guitarist Bill Leverty is really good…

So basically it’s time for Tesla….everyone you know in the crowd is meandering about,house lights are on and well I’m paying attention to the stage and I tell my bro check it out. With the house lights on Frank Hannon and Tommy Skeoch walk out and go right into the opening trade off riffing of Cumin Atcha Live….wow did Tesla pull the plug on the lights nope…as soon as the drums kick in the house lights go off and the Tesla light show begins! Man what a a cool way to open a show. Never ever have seen it done that way and will never again unless Tesla does it!

Jeff Keith reminds me of a male Janis Joplin and man can the dude sing. Troy Lucketta and Brian Wheat handle down the rhythm and  Tommy and Frank nail down the leads.

Tesla as a live band is like going to Mcdonalds. You know in a way what your getting  but your gonna be surprised as Tesla is a serious rock machine live . I mean talk about quality songs,performance,no bell and whistles just straight ahead rock n roll delivered loud!

I just remember there set list being like if I had made a set list myself on the songs I wanted to hear. After the opener Cumin,it was Change In The Weather,Hang Tough,Heavens Trail,Song And Emotion,Call It What You Want,The Way It is ,Paradise,Love Song(ok ok ,I know what I said earlier about ballads but when Tesla did em they do em with style not some re manufactured pomp junk . And of course they had acoustic portion of the show with Signs,Had Enough,Before My Eyes ,What You Give and now back to the electric with Edison’s Medicine,Let’s see oh yeah Modern Day Cowboy and Gettin Better were played…..cool stuff man….great great live band…..these cats could and can play check out the vid of Cumin Atcha Live. This is a perfect representation of  Tesla, great lead and backing vocals and Hannon/Skeoch are very very good here and man this is the first tune dude! Great video by whoever filmed it back in 92!

Totally enjoyed this show as it was a awesome set list performed by a great band and I was lucky to have caught em twice live  in two years by this point

9 thoughts on “5 Man Loud Electrical Jam…..”

  1. So two days ago, Tesla’s “Comin’ Atcha Live” was on the radio as the “metal moment” Wednesday morning. I thought to myself, “Odd choice for metal.”

    But now seeing this review…and this vid…that song definitely qualifies as a “metal moment” even though the band are probably more famous for their acoustic stuff.

    Thanks for the shout-out. It’s my favourite city I’ve never been to.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like a cool show. I had totally forgotten about Firehouse until you brought it up. I couldn’t even have named one of their songs. I hear you on the ballads, though. One, maybe two, tops. Get on with the rockin’!

    I had the Tesla acoustical jam on tape, back n the day. Always laughed at the end of Mother’s Little Helper when he admits he mucked up the words and says “don’t tell Mick…” Haha. That sounds like a helluva set list! A great night!

    Like

  3. Yeah the acoustic jam was there huge seller but man back in Highschool Mechanical Resonance came out they put out some quality rock albums! The Psychotic Supper album is a great rock record!
    U would enjoy …

    Like

Leave a Reply

