3/4’s Filler….Bad English/ Bad English

So 1989 and out of the ashes of Journey comes Bad English with John Waite singing the vocals. For me personally I could not stand this act as for me they were a calculated super group. It’s like some record company honchos sat around dreaming up a fantasy super group of unemployed musicians hence Bad English was born and shit they sold a ton of records so hey more power to em and most importantly TBone was a buyer and well once again he’s going under the bus!

Sorry pal,well no not really….ha….

I must also confess I have purchased duds thru the years as well but it’s more fun outing TBone!

TBone bought all his music on cassette back in the day and so one day I was rummaging thru his wall mounted Cassette holder that held about 200 tapes and tucked away under the B section(TBone liked to keep his cassettes in alphabetical order) and whoa what’s this says I?? Tbone would try and sometimes slide tapes under my radar (another one was Autographs That’s The Stuff) I couldn’t say much at the time so I said hey dude flip this in and bam here comes Best Of What I Got and if this is  your best Bad English I ain’t buying! Seriously this album is not my cup if tea it was so slickly overproduced too polished yeah it’s late 80s gloss for sure.

Also when song after song was released as singles it just seemed like power ballad (When I See You Smile)after power ballad(Price Of Love) was being pumped out and man I get so tired of hearing Neil Schon ( great guitarist) go on  about hey this is some heavy guitar action ,seriously ? Its like his guitar is always mixed below the keyboards I mean blah blah and more blah.

If you wanna hear Neil play some serious rock guitar check out the HSAS record he did with Sammy Hagar from 1985. Schon is cranked and man he lets it fly but here at Bad English and Journey HQ’s he’s buried!

So poor TBone, I put the bug In his two brothers ears about the Bad English dud and so it began to even this day Bad English Ridicule for the poor guy. Still remember me ,TBone and his bros Rugg and Darr going to see Tango and Cash the Stallone/Russell cheese movie and as we were leaving the theatre here comes Best Of What You Got piping thru the speakers as we were leaving! Me and the bros  were howling and chirping him profusely. Poor guy just hung his head and felt shamed! But he took it like a trooper!

I think these guys did another record and it fizzled and Neil took his guitar over too the Hardline camp and made a very good record with them. Shit his guitar is cranked pretty good on that one ….

I’m sure there are a ton of people that still think that this is classic AOR rock and if that’s your deal more power to ya! Who knows,but man the musical humouring that we still give TBone about it 25 years later is gold! So yeah in my eyes Bad English are gold!

13 thoughts on “3/4’s Filler….Bad English/ Bad English”

  1. Never thought much of Bad English.

    I discovered on the weekend that, unlike T-Bone, I did NOT keep my tapes in alphabetical order! Seems I just jammed them in whatever case had room.

    John Waite = boring as fuck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny!

      I know it must be surprising for you to find that I didn’t alphabetize my tapes. I had them in cases. They held 30-60 tapes each. I tended to group bands together. So all my Kiss would be in one case with my Ace Frehley, all my Van Halen would be in a case with my DLR and Hagar. It was an alternate form of organizing because I didn’t want to split a band between two cases, if they happened to fall that way alphabetically (which was pretty much every time). Still I never had problems finding a cassette. My sister’s stupid friends mixed them up on me but it was easy to put them all back.

      Like

      1. Hahaha ‘my sister’s stupid friends.’ Typical brother.

        Not too surprising you organized them that way, makes sense. Oh High Fidelity, how you nailed so much on the head…

        I have a bunck of those 3-drawer tape holders, stacked. And whatever doesn’t fit in there is in a (large) bin from IKEA.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I still don’t remember what possessed me to buy this. Pretty sure I never listened to it all the way thru ever. Tried to bury it in the tape bin but Deke sniffed it out.
    I do get a kick out of the abuse I’ ve taken for this faux pas though.

    Like

    1. Lebrain had a post where he let his wife into his collection and she sniffed out a bunch of questionable CDs. Puff Daddy, I remember that! Man, I think we all have records that others might raise eyebrows at. Me, I could probably make a whole shelf that you rockers would laugh at, but I say it’s all good. We like what we like!

      Like

Leave a Reply

