Kiss Live On “Friday’s” (1982)

Friday’s was a late night Saturday Night Live  type show that featured amongst others, Larry David,Michael  Richards ( Pre Kramer From Seinfeld Fame)

Just like SNL  Fridays would feature a Musical Artist and one episode KISS with their  new styling haircuts,purple  headbands(Mista Stanley) snazzy early 80s costumes  and a new drummer in tow(Eric Carr RIP). I was 14 when Kiss appeared on Fridays. (Jan 15 1982)

It was just under two years earlier I seen The Dynasty Tour(October 6 1979 )  with a massive stage  and an original drummer (Peter Criss) As a 12 year old my mind was blown by this show and to this day it will come as no surprise to many that it’s still blown!

But here’s  KISS  heading full throttle into the early 80s and confusing the general public  (myself ) and I think themselves! The Elder concept album as we were all lead to believe sank faster than my Grade 9 Math Mark while The Gene And Paul Show must have wondered what happened as no kids we’re buying Kiss Lunch Boxes anymore!

Kiss 1981 rolling into 1982 =Sinking Ship…..

Case In Point- Septemeber of 1981 I started Highschool(Grade 9 ) and early on wore my Kiss Dynasty Tour Tee from 1979. I was mocked by the older kids and I only than realized that Kiss was not cool anymore whatsoever! The only two guys that owned The Elder were Moi and My Buddy Muc!(Muc kept it on  down-low I’m sure to avoid the hassle I got! Hahahaha….I should have sold Muc down the river as well) Tbone who if you recall I sold Kiss Unmasked to a year earlier (1980) in what I believe was the first Pawn Shop Transaction ever in Thunder Bay didn’t want to know about The Elder as well!

Ha! Sooooo it’s basically down to this…Gene,Paul,Eric Carr,Deke and (closet Kiss Fan ) Muc who actually kinda liked The Elder!

The Frehley tracks were of course good(Dark Light,Escape From The Island) Simmons tracks like “I” we’re solid others like Mr Blackwell were meh! Stanley actually kicked the doors in with The Oath but man he’s a singing some kinda falsetto but whatever Eric Carr shows up nails down some double bass drumming to make The Oath a good track! Just  A Boy was too much of a deptarture from the Kiss sound and as a 14 yr old it was like “WHUT THE FLUTE!” is going on here?…Kiss wanting to be taken seriously? Nah! Ask the Dorks who hounded me for wearing the Dynasty T! Conform Or Be Cast Out! Guess DeKEs was cast out!

So back to Friday’s! Heres Kiss and I posted the 3 songs played that night (The Oath/A World Without Heroes/I) …

Gotta Hand it to Ace! There is the Spaceman all pickled up (on National TV) but still being Rock N Roll (is the solo Ace plays on the live video anything like the one on the album?)  while Gene And Paul are wanting to be taken serious while new dude Eric on the drums is just glad to be on the payroll of playing  drums and not having to clean stoves for a living!

A World Without Heroes is Gene wanting to be taken serious but I dunno man with that haircut and song! It’s ok but to me the Demon is God Of Thunder not some acoustic driven song where In the promo video he bats a tear at the end of the song! Ummmmm make that a Double WHUT!

“I ” is a pretty decent track! Stanley and Simmons trade off some vocal lines just like the good ol daze of yesteryear when Kiss were cool (like 4 years earlier in 1978!)  Carr plays some good drums and I always laugh when Gene sings the line “No need to get wasted” and the Space man is orbiting around next to him playing his Les Paul! Haha…..

Watch the audience shots they almost don’t  know what to make of this new version Kiss!

Many didn’t and later in 1982 Kiss released what I feel is one their  best studio albums Creatures Of The Night and once again no one cared so by 1983 off comes the Grease Paint and Boom! Here’s the new studio opus Lick It Up and lots of fans are back aboard the Gene and Paul Money Train! ….

A dude I went to school with whose name was Jeff(Breaking The ) Law seen Kiss at Maple Leaf Gardens on the Lick It Up tour and brought me back a Kiss T …..

Yup! I wore it to school and the masses left me alone!

Funny how after a year and a half and a band taking off their war paint people’s opinon changed about Kiss!

Welcome To Music Biz Kids!

7 thoughts on “Kiss Live On “Friday’s” (1982)”

    1. I appreciate more today but i wrote the blog from me being 14 at the time. As a 14 yr old in 1981 that year i dicovered Maiden Killers/ Vh Fair Warning /lepp with High N Dry and heres Kiss laying down the gaunlet with a Flute!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think if I’d heard it back then it would have been a bit harder to swallow, after all the disco stuff etc… I first heard it in the late 80s so it was a bit easier to listen to it with hindsight I suppose?

        Like

  1. I don’t know a whole lot about KISS, but I know they have a lot of ardent fans (hi Mike! 🙂 ) so it’s interesting to me that there was a period where they weren’t cool (to the point of your being mocked at school). If it hits the high school kids in Thunder bay in the 80s, they must have fallen pretty far!

    Also, I don’t remember Fridays at all. Was it a local thing for you? It’s no surprise I missed it, though, I didn’t watch much TV back then (I don’t even have one today), and in 1982 I was 8 years old so if I did watch it was likely cartoons. And Hockey Night In Canada, natch.

    Ah well, at least the band made it back into good graces. Cool post, Deke! Good on ya for shining a light onto this!

    Like

  2. Nice post dude! I loved the Fridays performance. I have some on bootleg. If anything these performances prove that Kiss could have toured and played some Elder live. I still wish the Oath would go back in the set even though Paul can’t sing it any more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

