OZZY OSBOURNE: Bark at the Moon (1983)

 

When you really get down to it Bark at the Moon from Mr. John Osbourne may indeed be my favorite studio output of his.

Let me explain my side of the story folks.

Christmas time 1982 my folks purchased Speak of the Devil for me which really was my first foray into the world of Black Sabbath. (SOTD, as you may recall, was a double live album of Sabbath tunes as Ozzy refused to release his Randy Rhoads live material as in March of 82 Rhoads perished in a plane crash)

I had the first two solo Ozzy albums on cassette tape(Blizzard of Oz and Diary of a Madman). Great rock albums make no mistake about it but what really got me on board with some Ozz hype was when he introduced his new guitar guy Jake E Lee.

I think it was in Guitar World that I first read about Jake being the new fella in the band.

Come Christmas Time 1983 my fine parents once again delivered on my list of records and Bark at the Moon was at the top of that list!

The opening tune  Bark at the Moon sets the bar high before Ozzy drinks it dry as Jake doesn’t fuck about and gets down to some serious riffage as the tune has been iconic over the last 37 years since its initial release.

Bark at the Moon (the album)I hear it differently now in 2020 than I did in 1983.  The two slower like tracks You’re No Different and So Tired confused me back in 83 as I wanted was blistering riffage rock, not some soft Pop-Tart like tunes.

But I get what Oz and the band were doing. An album that isn’t balls to the walls rock at some points but to open one’s ears to other sonic perspectives to songwriting.

Its the rock stuff that really yanked my crank back than and even to this day.

How about the mashup of Jake’s guitar and Tommy Aldridge‘s drums in Now You See It Now You Don’t. The fast as a shark rock track Rock N Rebel. The awesome riffage of Centre of Eternity.

Ozzy knew what we wanted and delivered it in spades on this album. Hell, even Oz pulls off some good singing on this album which no one ever talks about.

How about that cover and back cover shot? Rock Candy Magazine has a feature where they dissect album covers and Bark at the Moon was covered.  The album cover with Ozz was actually taken outside in the wee hours of the morning as was the back cover shot. No studio props whatsoever.

The only knock I have on this album is the fact that Ozzy says he wrote this album all by himself which we all know is a crock of shit!

Jake and Bassist Bob Daisley I know had a hand in the creating of these tracks. Jake being the new kid on the block probably got strong-armed in relinquishing songwriting credits while Daisley being around the block a few times with Sharon and Ozzy would give up a piece of the pie is beyond me.

Who knows for sure what went on behind the scenes but Bark at the Moon is one monster of an album.

22 thoughts on “OZZY OSBOURNE: Bark at the Moon (1983)”

    1. Yeah he deserves no credit how about that opening riff of the title track which is the first track! Wasn’t for Jake stepping into that situation who knows where Ozzy’s career would have headed.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love how Ozzy created this with one finger on the piano.
    That opening riff in BATM and that outro solo are fucking sublime. All the songs are spot on, and one of my favorites is Waiting For Darkness, those staccato palm muted lines from Jake…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks John.
      Ultimate Sin is another good one but I like BATM a smidge better. Nice to see Jake at least get credits on that album before he got sacked!

      Like

  2. Nice point about Ozzy’s singing, Deke – for all the other aspects of his personality / the band / the theatrics, I could see how that gets overlooked.
    And I didn’t know his birth name was John, I may have to borrow that for a 500 clue on a future quiz!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes Deke this is a fucking great album. I have a lot of Ozzy favourites. Obviously the first two with Randy are untouchable, but beyond that, this one and No Rest for the Wicked are just as good! Whoever wrote the album (we all know it was Jake and Daisley!) it turned out great. But dark. Very dark. It’s a mood that permeates the album. The fun times of “No Bone Movies” and “Flying High Again” are not here. Even the songs like “Rock and Roll Rebel” that seem like good time rockers on the surface are darker than that — it’s a song about persecution. “They say I worship the devil, they must be stupid or blind.”

    Ultimately here is my take. Ozzy was haunted at this time. That comes out in the album. The death of Randy really spiralled him, and he hated all the “satanic” accusations deeply to his core. Ozzy is a very emotional human and ultimately he just wanted to be loved. This is the album he made when he felt cold, alone, and angry about it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Yeah that is the one thing that I really dislike about the way the Osbournes do business. So many guys kicked to the curb. Even Bill Ward. But on the other hand, when they find someone who is the right fit, they are there for as long as they want to be. Guys like Zakk, or Randy Castillo (RIP) and Tommy Clufetos are/were loyal cats. They knew their roles in the band. Ozzy needed Zakk and Zakk just wanted to enhance Ozzy. Jake wasn’t a Sabbath fan.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Funny how that goes eh Scott. I’m like you on BATM. Ozzy like many others had a ton of output in the 80s so some stuff may get a little lost in the shuffle but now after almost 40 years its good to go back and discover stuff,better late than never haha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Stellar album. The North American tracklisting is definitely best. I love all the metal stuff, but I’ve really come to love “You’re No Different” in recent years for it’s evil trippy bridge and great lyrics by Bob Daisley. “So Tired” is still kind of lame, but an okay novelty. Jake E. Lee shreds this album, but I still prefer The Ultimate Sin overall. Not by much though. Ozzy’s first four are clazzic.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I still don’t know it. I know, I know… I’m making a list of albums I need to get on and this and AC/DC have been duly added. I’m gonna listen today or tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.