Thunder Bay Arena Rocks Top 10 Studio Albums 2020

Thank goodness for music. Here’s what I thought was cool in the year 2020. If anything check out some of my picks as you may find some stuff here that will make you wanna crank it to 11!

Here are my Top 10 Studio Albums/Songs for the year 2020!

Here We Go…

#10-Tbone: Lebrain Train– So my pal Tbone bored out of his noggin at “Castle Del Erickson” one night decided to monkey around with all the gadgets on his iPhone (Garageband) and recorded a theme song for Ladano’s Stream. Safe to say he has managed to do in 2 minutes that bands like “Poison” and “Warrant” have not been able to muster up since 1990 and that’s writing a catchy tune! Click the video above and by the way my favorite part of the video comes in at one minute and thirty-five-second mark.

#9-Trapper: Bye Bye Mon Cowboy/Illegal/Winterlong– Guitarist Sean Kelly continues to show his work ethic as not only does Sean play the 6 string in acts like Coney Hatch, Rough Trade but along with vocalist Emn Gryner and their band Trapper released a mini EP featuring a couple of French cover tunes (Illegal/Bye Bye Mon Cowboy) Not only that but Trapper a few weeks back also released an original tune called “Winterlong” that leaves us wanting a full on-length release of originals! Bring it on Sean!

#8-Ozzy Osbourne: Ordinary Man– People bitch and moan about Ozzy using autotune and doing this and that but want do you want. No Ozzy records? People would complain about that. In saying that “Ordinary Man” is a decent spin. Some rockers, some ballads, and other than the last two songs which are not my deal it’s a good album. Kudos to Andrew Watts for co-writing and playing some good guitar.

#7-Kim Mitchell: The Big Fantasize– Kim well into his 60s has released a cool summertime chill-out record called “The Big Fantasize”. If you’re looking for “Lagar And Ale” type Kim rock keep on walking but if your willing to listen to a dude who has earned his right to do the rock he wants to do you may like what Akimbo is doing here!

#6-Whitesnake: The Rock Album- I’m not big on compilation albums but this one intrigued me as 10 of the 16 tracks featured I had never heard. So for that David Coverdale makes my list and it always helps when an album opens with John Sykes and his musical guitar muscle of “Still of the Night.” Plus the fact that there are zippo ballads on “The Rock Album” also helps the cause!

#5-Big Sugar: Eternity NowGordie Johnson released the long-awaited “Eternity Now” which went straight in at Number 1 on the iTunes sales charts. No mean feat as Big Sugar lays down the law on epic guitar tracks like “The Better It Gets” and Alex Lifeson makes an appearance on the title track. Gordie is one fine guitarist!

#4-Harem Scarem: Change The WorldPete and Harry do what they do best and that is delivering huge hard rock slabs of pure melodic metal. “Change The World” came out right before the world took a dump yet these guys stepped up with a batch of hard rock delight.  “The Death of Me is hands down one of my fav rock tracks of the year. Give this one a spin or a stream and tell Harry and Pete that dEke’s sent ya!

#3-Vandenberg:2020- Holy moly, Adrian Vandenberg enlists a great vocalist in Ronnie Romero, and between the two of them easily have made the list here as Vandenberg has rocked up a batch of great tracks. “Freight Train” is a bonafide winner and Adrian lays down the law on his guitar throughout the 2020 album. I’m glad he has rebooted Vandenberg. 

#2-AC/DC: Power Up– The world needed an AC/DC album and boy did they deliver. I can honestly say I can listen to “Power Up” front to back without skipping tracks. Angus was smart to bring the old crew back and they blasted out an album of what they do best. Power this album Up!

#1-Storm Force: Age of Fear- Patrick, Dennis, Mike, and Greg known as Storm Force put out the magnificent “Age of Fear” this past January, and then the world hit the skids. “Age of Fear” is my Number 1 for the year 2020 as this release is chock full of superb musicianship, soaring vocals, and crafty lyrics along with very solid production(Darius Szczepaniak). A top-notch release that covers all the bases of the Hard Rock spectrum.  If you goggle around on the web all the reviews have been stellar for this band so it’s not just me spouting off.  Check out “Age of Fear”  an appropriately named release if there ever was one in the year 2020!

Check Back Friday for my Top 10 Live Albums of 2020!

 

39 thoughts on “Thunder Bay Arena Rocks Top 10 Studio Albums 2020”

  1. Well other than the controversial pick at number 10 LOL, this is a strong list of 2020 releases. Although the year has been a major shit show in a lot of ways, sucking harder than “Current River” when they first played “Crocks”, it is nice to be reminded that some good things still happened musically this year. Most of these I’ve heard but a few I haven’t so I will have to check them out. Once again, great job Deke!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great list Deke! We have several that are the same, but not in the same order. Awesome to include LeBrain Train as that song is great. I didn’t think to include the Whitesnake album, but I had heard most of those songs, so good choice there. The Whitesnake Love Album though…ugh…you will see in my review coming in a week or so.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is a ROCK solid list, Deke! Loving that #10 pick (it truly is catchy as hell) and you make me wanna hear Trapper. I mean, Sean Kelly, hell yeah, but then there’s Emm Gryner in leather pants too and she’s awesome. Yeah I need that one. Good on ya Deke, here’s to rockin’ in 2021!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Surprise pick at number 10….. I mean the title track is decent, but where is the rest of the album???
    Great list bro….. I think you had me spin most of these this year.. 2020 was a shit year, but did produce a few gems musically

    Liked by 2 people

  5. The T-Bone song!! Yeah I’m gonna have to pick that too!

    Three of your albums are on my top list. One is on my bottom list. It’s up to the people to guess which.

    Big Fantastize I have only played once while I wait for my severely delayed CD….

    #1 is, I hope, everybody’s #1…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vandenberg would have been a bit further up for me. Lol.

    But a solid final 5.

    Storm Force “Age Of Fear” was a surprise one for me so thanks for posting your interview and review early on in the year which got me keen to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ACDC amazes me. This is not a put down at all…I love them but they basically make 3 chord songs and haven’t changed a thing…some bands can’t get away with that…but God bless them…they do. All of those riffs are catchy and that is what counts.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done! I don’t know many who keep their ear to the ground as much as you anymore, Deke. I heard a track off the Ozzy record on air, can’t remember the title, but it sounded quite decent. And at least I’ve heard of most of those acts! Time mag put out their year-end magazine and listed their top 10 songs of the year… I’d only heard of one of the ten ARTISTS! Hadn’t heard a single song on their list, and 9 of the 10 performers, I’d never heard the name of before. Meanwhile, I just got a 10 CD set of ’70s music in the mail, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ozzy has had a couple of tunes on the radio. Under The Graveyard and Ordinary Man (with Elton John).
      Thanks for the compliment I try to keep up with the acts that I like and support them when they put out new music. It’s really all I can do. I’m sure I would have not known the Time Magazine artists either as I really don’t venture out of the rock box too much. lol
      I always tell everyone I’m a one trick pony when it comes to music. lol
      Cheers Pal,
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.