Judas Priest: A Visual Biography by Martin Popoff (2022)

Martin Popoff has put together a fantastic visual biography on Judas Priest .

Spread out over 225 pages in a hard cover coffee table like format, Martin has pulled out all the stops in this stunning visual of the Metal Gods from Birmingham England.

By the way, this band has been going for 53 years!

“A Visual Biography” starts from the origins of Priest in the  late 60’s all the way up to October 2021 and all points in between!

By that I mean Martin has covered all eras of Priest. The Ripper Owens era is covered as is Halford’s band Fight even KK Downing’s new unit (with Ripper on vocals) KK’s Priest is in this book!

More value, bang for the buck…

I have to add the layout of this book is stellar. The book has a ton of album adds, ticket stubs,45 rpm singles as well as facts written about each album and each tour.

Since “Point of Entry” is one of my favourite Priest albums, here are pics so you can see for yourself the detail that Martin has put into each chapter year by year.

Here’s some more for ya!

What else that is really cool is each live shot is dated from where the picture was taken like the “Point of Entry Tour” from Maryland back in 1981.

Being a Canuck, I had to feature a shot taken from Maple Leaf Gardens during the “World Vengeance Tour” stop in Toronto.

Special thanks to all the photographers that contributed there fine live shot’s of Priest throughout not only the years but the decades as well.

In closing….

My favourite era of Priest is from ’79 through to ’87 and this book is worth the money for that time period alone which is a great flashback.

Better yet…. I can officially announce here at the blog that Martin will be hoping on “Scotch On The Rocks” Wednesday April 20th at 6pm EST. We are going to throw it down in regards to “Judas Priest: A Visual Biography”.

Check out Martins website by clicking below for ordering info and check out all of Mr. Popoff’s books as well!

http://www.martinpopoff.com/html/bookslist.html

 

26 thoughts on “Judas Priest: A Visual Biography by Martin Popoff (2022)”

    1. Sixx’s comments were uncalled for. Kind of a douche move on Nikki’s part as he tends to forget that years ago Matthew Trippe was impersonating and sued Crue…Martin writes books on bands like RIOT, Accept and Max Webster bands that should have been bigger..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh so how much detail is in that book compared to the Decade of Domination and the Turbo Til Now books? The price is a bit expensive for me, so I won’t buy the visual biography right away, but I’ll keep it in mind when the price is right.

        Like

    1. U can always watch it at the official Scotch On The Rocks YouTube page whenever u like. How’s that for a plug.When I reach out to guys like Martin I always let them pick the day and time.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks pal. There is something about that 80s era of Priest that I have always been fascinated by. Maybe its because they were truly the first Metal band I discovered back in 79-80. KISS-Cheap Trick-Queen-New England- AC/DC even were not doing the twin guitar leads and Priests “Unleashed” album was my entry point and “Point of Entry” was my first actual studio purchase in 81 right round the time I discovered Maiden ..
      Frigg I’m old. lol

      Like

    1. It will be cool to chat to Martin about this book as I have read a lot of Priest interviews etc and I still find out stuff I did not know about in Martin’s books as he always does his homework.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.