Impact Album: Sloan: Navy Blues (Deluxe Vinyl Edition)-2019

Sloan to coincide with there Navy Blues Tour which hit Thunder Bay a week ago has released this fantastic Vinyl Edition of Navy Blues (limited to 1200 ) that gives you the listener a first-hand account of this masterpiece from 1998.

Crazy that it’s been 21 years since the original album came out and here we are now in 2019 and what a fantastic looking set put together by Sloaners Jay Ferguson and Chris Murphy.

Here are the Facts Folk’s at what’s included

Navy Blues Deluxe Vinyl Box Set includes:
  • 3 LPs each with 11” x 22” lyric inserts
  • 12” x 12” 32-page full-color book
  • 2  7” singles
  • 11” x 24” color poster
  • High-quality digital download (mp3 or FLAC) of the entire box set
  • Limited edition of 1200 only

Thanks to my good pal Tbone I received this Box Set as a Birthday Gift! How sweeeet it is!

First of all the cool thing is when you get these box set reissues from Sloan the money they make is going straight into there own pocket which is how it should be.

The 32-page book that comes gives a very candid detail look at how the biz works and what kind of hoops and such these guys had to jump through to own all there own publishing from 1996’s’One Chord To Another’ from there and beyond. Each guy in Sloan (along with Jay and Chris in the band are Patrick Pentland and Andrew Scott) is interviewed in the book and gives a great detailed explanation back in the era that this album was recorded(1996-1998) along with the touring/videos made and the business involved with running a band which is a fascinating read.

The 3 vinyl albums are awesome. LP 1 is the full album that is the domestic release that we all know and love. (13 Tracks)

Navy Blues (LP #1)
Side A
1. She Says What She Means
2. C’mon C’mon (We’re Gonna Get It Started)
3. Iggy & Angus
4. Sinking Ships
5. Keep On Thinkin’
6. Money City Maniacs
7. Seems So Heavy
Side B
1. Chester The Molester
2. Stand By Me, Yeah
3. Suppose They Close The Door
4. On The Horizon
5. I Wanna Thank You
6. I’m Not Through With You Yet


LP 2  features all 13 tracks in demo form( and they sound amazing) and the demos have the same running order as the LP 1!  Pretty cool to hear a pretty sped-up version of Iggy and Angus which is really cool at how the song was tweaked before the final version that ended up on the album.

The Demos (LP #2)
Side A
1. She Says What She Means (July/Aug 1996 demo)
2. C’mon C’mon (We’re Gonna Get It Started) (Autumn 1997 demo)
3. Iggy & Angus (Jan/Feb 1997 demo)
4. Sinking Ships (Oct 1997 demo)
5. Keep On Thinkin’ (July 1997 demo)
6. Money City Maniacs (Aug 1997 demo)
7. Seems So Heavy (Sept 1997 demo)
Side B
1. Chester The Molester (July 1997 demo)
2. Stand By Me, Yeah (Aug 1997 demo)
3. Suppose They Close The Door (July 1997 demo)
4. On The Horizon (Oct 1997 demo)
5. I Wanna Thank You (Autumn/Winter 1997 demo)
6. I’m Not Through With You Yet (Aug 1997 demo)
The third LP  (The Outtakes) is really interesting as its basically stuff that I had never heard before. It’s pretty much an unreleased full album of Sloan tunes! Total score on this one as well.
The Outtakes (LP #3)
Side A
1. So Beyond Me (Studio outtake)
2. Just One Shot (July/Aug 1996 demo)
3. I Feel Lied To (July 1997 demo)
4. Mother’s Day (Studio outtake)
5. Style Is Still Style (Studio outtake)
6. 2, 3 Hello (Aug 1997 demo)
7. Open Your Umbrellas (Early 1997 demo)
Side B
1. Daddy Be Cool (Studio outtake)
2. Family Tree (Oct 1997 demo)
3. All By Myself (Studio outtake Version 2 )
4. Glen Campbell (July/Aug 1996 demo)
5. I’ve Enabled Myself (Aug 1997 demo)
6. Helen (Oct 1997 demo)
7. Yours To Steal (July 1997 demo)
Another interesting tidbit from The Outtakes is that the second song ‘Just One Shot’ from July/Aug 1996 was fixed up and ended up being retitled on Sloans album from 2018 called 12. The song on 12  was retitled ‘That Day Will Be Mine’
That’s not all folks. How about 2 Sealed 7 inch Singles:
7″ Single 1
Side A
1. Rock Star Admit It (July/Aug 1996 demo)
Side B
1. Out To Lunch (Aug 1997 demo)
7” Single 2
Side A
1. Hammond Jam Pt. 1 (Studio outtake)
Side B
1. Hammond Jam Pt. 2 (Studio outtake)
Such a wicked awesome set!
Tbone picked this up as I mentioned earlier at the Sloan show here in Tbay last week and we got together this past Saturday Night at Tbone’s and spun the three albums in succession. We went with LP 2 first, then LP 3 than back to LP1. Why did we do it this way? Why not lol!
A real cool listen to all these songs as the sound is excellent on everything. I also like the fact that Sloan also included an mp3 download coupon so I was able to put everything onto my iPod!
Great album by a Great Band!







22 thoughts on “Impact Album: Sloan: Navy Blues (Deluxe Vinyl Edition)-2019”

    1. Tons out but considering Sloan does everything themselves (they own there publishing) they only made 1200 so yeah a real cool fantastic gift.
      I said to Tbone he should have kept it or got himself one but as he said he knows it’s going to a good place as well as he doesn’t have the time to really let this stuff sink in. Busy being a father/running his own business etc.
      I got time hahaha…Took me a few years to get to this point but I made it! haha

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just loved the “Outtakes” album. The word Outtakes makes it sound like a Blooper Reel if slip ups and miscues but in reality, as you said, it’s really basically a complete unreleased Sloan album. Fully conceived songs with good production. So cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jesus! I never heard of half of these songs! Hammond Jam? Holy fuck and a half!

    Deke I’m insanely jealous. As we discuss so often, “you can’t buy everything”, but you definitely won here. You win. Hands down. T-Bone is the MAN!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I won cuz Tbone stepped up HUGE! It was fun sitting around listening to this box set on Saturday Night!
      Here’s a fun fact- After we got through the Sloan stuff Tbone said: “Throw on Live Bootleg Deke!” Bam done. After that, it was H.S.A.S followed by Never Surrender by Triumph capped off with Turbo by Priest! Then I went home at 2 am!
      Total Vinyl night! Tbone poured drinks I operated his sound system!
      Great night!


      1. We don’t do it as much as we should but we get together its like no time has passed. Then again I have known the guy since 1975!
        The same damn year as KISS ALIVE!


    1. Thanks, Pete.
      I talked to Chris Murphy(vocalist/bass/drums) and we talked about the influences. They don’t hide it. Even on there one tune ‘Iggy and Angus’ you hear some duel guitar leads which sounds like Lizzy at times.
      They’re a ​brilliant​ man.
      Thanks for checking them out!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done Tbone!
    that is a beauty of a set – I think I would do the same order of 2,3,1.
    I already know I love 1, would be most curious about 2. But then from the looks of it, it’s a safe bet I’d love 3 too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really cool to hear not only the demos but basically an album of tunes that they didn’t use at the time that sat in the vaults til now.
      Amazing really that they didn’t already put this stuff out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.