Rolling Stones Live In Hampton Virginia 1981

Since its the end of KMA Week here at Arena Rock I thought I would do something that I have never done and that’s drop 2 reviews minutes apart! Ha! So enjoy part 2 folks ….

Ever since I got to know Aaron I realized just how big of a Stones fan he was and I told him How great this show was and he should get it and he did so I basically have verbally bombarded him at various times about “where’s the Hampton Stones review?” Like a  blabbering idiot enough to stir him with amusement! Ha!!

So dude I have had to take matters into my own hands!

Just like how I dig the early 80s version of The Who I also really dig the early 80s version of The Stones especially there live material from that era!

The Stones in 1981 released the classic Tatoo You album and of course followed in 1982 the fantastic Still Life Live album from that tour!

I really love  the playing of the Stones on the Still Life release and here’s my spin on it…click here….https://superdekes.wordpress.com/2014/08/22/sonic-waves-rolling-stonesstill-life/

The one thing that bummed me out about Still Life was that it was a single live album not a double album. Gripes aside it was just a little while ago that The Stones on the website starting releasing past live shows from there Vault!

One of these shows was the full Hampton Virginia (1981)show! 26 tunes and once i seen that Poof Instant download!

Charlie Watts,Ian Stewart(RIP),Ronnie Wood,Keef Richards,Bill Wyman and Mick Jagger pull off and give me more songs 26 in total for the full meal Stones deal!

Songs that didn’t make the Still Life cut are fantastic nuggets like When The Whip Comes Down,Neighbours,Black Limosuine,Beast Of Burden,Waiting On A Friend,Let It Bleed,You Can’t Always Get What You Want, my personl fav Keef Tune in Little T&A,Let It Bleed,Tumbling Dice,She’s So Cold,Hang Fire,Honkey Tonk Women and Brown Sugar!

This is the best Stones set ever! Sure I like there other things latter on especially Voodoo Lounge but Wowzers kids these songs are golden and the best thing I like is its the Stones with just Stewie on the piano and some dudes on horns on a few other tracks playing with out the bells and whistles before the Stones in the late 80s incorperated backing singers and made there band bigger! Case in point a few months back i reviewed the Stones single Doom And Gloom along with Highwire and well read about how I just like how the Stones just got back to the basics…https://superdekes.wordpress.com/2015/01/23/cool-lil-numbers-rolling-stonesdoom-and-gloomhighwire/

I just like this stripped down version best!

Gotta love Jagger at the Hampton show as it was filmed for ppv special. He name checks all the cities that are watching on ppv! Ha what a lead singer/businessman while always keeping a eye on the $$$$$!

The Stones prove without a doubt that they were a serious Ass Kicker live act back in 1981!

 

11 thoughts on “Rolling Stones Live In Hampton Virginia 1981”

  1. DEKE! You beat me to it! Hahaha I will get to my own review of this! Soon! I swear it! Hahahaha!

    It really is an incredible period for this band – so much fun! Thanks for throwing the Stones into the Kick My Ass Week. I am most certainly a fan. James probably too! Though not as much as me, likely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup Beat U !! Hahaha…no,worries though I amd look forward into the next century at some point of reading your thoughts on the Hamptons show! Ha! It was a great week glad Ya dug it…..

      Like

      1. The version of Midnight Rambler on LYL will absolutely slay you. Oh my goodness so GOOD!

        But yeah, these guys have a boatload of live albums. And the bootleggers make it so you’d need a third mortgage on your house to own it all. It’s crazy. But that’s to be expected, making music for 50 years!

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.